Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 1938 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

Tabless Where did I go wrong?

Thread title: Tabless Where did I go wrong?
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
02-10-2007, 06:34 AM
#1
Dave.H is offline Dave.H
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 117
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Dave.H is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Dave.H

  Old  Tabless Where did I go wrong?

Ok so as I would like to point out first this is not xuxa portfollio. I am making him one but this will not be it. I was just using this for the purpose of learning tabless coding.

Secondly check this out:

http://davehorne.awardspace.com/

I deffinately screwed up the coding.

Here is the link to the style sheet:

http://davehorne.awardspace.com/xstyle.css

In case this helps, here is what it looks like in dreamweaver:

http://f.exoload.com/207/previewdw.jpg

Can anyone help me solve this

Thanks in advance

02-10-2007, 07:40 AM
#2
Julian is offline Julian
Status: Simply to simplify
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Foxton, Manawatu, New Zealand
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,572
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Julian is on a distinguished road

  Old

For a start you do not need a div called container, you haven't even used this div in the html or put any properties for it in your css.

Why have you specified a pt for width for the wrapper? pt is generally used for print, px for web. You also have pt throughout your css, px is the best way to represent sizing, and em for text. Also, if you are using 0 (zero) as a size then you shouldn't follow the 0 with a unit like pt, px etc.

You have used position:fixed in almost everything, this could be a problem, also consider using floats for the inner content modules.

02-10-2007, 03:48 PM
#3
daz is offline daz
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 562
iTrader: 5 / 100%
 

daz is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to daz

  Old

Container and wrapper are generally used for the same thing. It's either one or the other, don't use both. I suggest instead of 'margin: 0px;' on every element you use this code:

Code:
* {
	margin: 0; padding: 0;
}
That will remove the default padding on all elements.

I don't understand why you have position: relative, or absolute on every element. It's not needed. I'd start off by removing all the position: whatever; and go from there.

02-10-2007, 11:25 PM
#4
Julian is offline Julian
Status: Simply to simplify
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Foxton, Manawatu, New Zealand
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,572
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Julian is on a distinguished road

  Old

position:absolute throws the element out of the document flow, try relative instead.

02-10-2007, 11:45 PM
#5
Garrett is offline Garrett
Status: Waving
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,694
iTrader: 11 / 100%
 

Garrett is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Garrett

  Old

I see a lot of Dreamweaver code... It's best to use code view. As Julian said...Relative throws it out of the flow, and so does Fixed. It might look good in Dreamweaver, but every browser reads position: different...if you do it right it will all work in all browsers.

02-11-2007, 07:13 AM
#6
Dave.H is offline Dave.H
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 117
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Dave.H is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Dave.H

  Old

Ok so I attempted to make everything on the right relative and everything on the left floated and static. Is this better?

http://davehorne.awardspace.com/

It looks fine in IE but what else can I do to improve the looks of it? Is the coding right? I know my stylesheet could use some cleaning up. Is the xhtml semantics correct?

Thanks for all your help!

02-11-2007, 06:04 PM
#7
Dave.H is offline Dave.H
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 117
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Dave.H is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Dave.H

  Old

Sorry for bump! My reasoning is I have to apply to university within the next 2 days and submit a portfollio and I really want to have a coded website down.

Thanks for everyones help again

02-11-2007, 07:00 PM
#8
NavySeal is offline NavySeal
Status: Member
Join date: Mar 2006
Location: CA
Expertise: programming
Software:
 
Posts: 136
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

NavySeal is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to NavySeal

  Old

Try validating your code such as your css for example it shows u having an error

http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/v...rdspace.com%2F

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed