Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 2284 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

Is your site W3C compliant?

Thread title: Is your site W3C compliant?
Closed Thread  
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
05-05-2005, 07:01 PM
#1
Koobi is offline Koobi
Koobi's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 312
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Koobi is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by DesignsbyPam
Thanks for the help Jonny. I'm down to one error... the background. Can't seem to figure it out. As you can probably guess, I'm still learning alot of the css stuff. Little by little but I'm getting there.

That's why that css book would come in real handy

Pamela

Here's a very general use of the background property in CSS
Code:
background: #fff url(images/image.png) repeat-x 0 0;



Originally Posted by Aphex
However, does it really matter, if the site generally works in all browsers?
It matters a lot IMO.
Let's take an example, IE renders a page in "quirks mode" (meaning it tries to fix things on it's own; "tries" being the keyword) if you don't have a Doctype, for example but this is the wrong way to go about doing things, so let's assume that the IE team decide to do the right thing and display the page as it is without a doctype, now your page will have a problem.
There are so many other scenario's I can think of, the key scenario being that if something is MEANT to be a certain way, then that's for a reason so we should code according to standards otherwise we end up in a messed up standards-non-compliant world and inefficiency kicks in and it becomes hard to share and exchange data blah blah blah (I can go on if you like heh heh)

I believe that if a page is not valid, the parser (in this case the browser) should'nt display the page (just like the XML renderers that display an error if an XML document is not valid XML)...but that's just me.

05-06-2005, 03:02 PM
#2
DesignsbyPam is offline DesignsbyPam
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Florida
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 40
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

DesignsbyPam is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to DesignsbyPam

  Old

Originally Posted by Koobi
Here's a very general use of the background property in CSS
Thanks again for the help! One more question then I'm off to give things a try.... what about backgrounds for a cell or table?

Pamela

05-06-2005, 09:14 PM
#3
xdoomx is offline xdoomx
Status: Member
Join date: Feb 2005
Location: Quebec, Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 441
iTrader: 1 / 100%
 

xdoomx is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to xdoomx Send a message via MSN to xdoomx

  Old

SleekSkins isn't... mainly because of our JS fading buttons (3 out of the 4 errors).

The original layout without the JS rollovers was W3C compliant though.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=www.sleekskins.com

05-07-2005, 05:50 AM
#4
Yuneek is offline Yuneek
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 17
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Yuneek is on a distinguished road

  Old

I don't have a site right now, but all of my sites have were XHTML Strict valid with valid CSS.

Yuneek

05-07-2005, 03:45 PM
#5
Adam is offline Adam
Adam's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 433
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Adam is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by xdoomx
SleekSkins isn't... mainly because of our JS fading buttons (3 out of the 4 errors).

The original layout without the JS rollovers was W3C compliant though.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=www.sleekskins.com
that javascript error is actually pretty easy to fix

change

<script language="JavaScript">

to
<script type="text/javascript"

...img/button_home.gif" alt="Home" name="but1" class="imgFader" onmouseover="JSF

should be

...img/button_home.gif" alt="Home" id="but1" class="imgFader" onmouseover="JSF

05-07-2005, 07:09 PM
#6
Koobi is offline Koobi
Koobi's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 312
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Koobi is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by DesignsbyPam
Thanks again for the help! One more question then I'm off to give things a try.... what about backgrounds for a cell or table?

Pamela
You simple attach the style to the table/table cell

Example if inline styles
HTML Code:
<table>
    <tr>
        <td style="background: #fff url(images/image.png) repeat-x 0 0;">
            My text
        </td>
    </tr>
</table>
Or, if your table/cell has a class or id attached to it, simple add the background attribute to the CSS for that class/id or you can even attach the background attribute to the td tag within the CSS itself:

The HTML
HTML Code:
<table>
    <tr>
        <td class="myBg">
            My text
        </td>
    </tr>
</table>
The CSS:
Code:
.myBg
{
    background: #fff url(images/image.png) repeat-x 0 0;
}


Originally Posted by Aphex
I've never seen that before, thats really neat. I'd also like to mention the PNG behaviors on that page - thats worth looking at. IE sucks with PNG.
IE does suck with partial transparency on PNG's...I wish they would fix that already :/

05-08-2005, 12:47 AM
#7
DesignsbyPam is offline DesignsbyPam
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Florida
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 40
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

DesignsbyPam is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to DesignsbyPam

  Old

Originally Posted by Koobi
You simple attach the style to the table/table cell

Example if inline styles...
Thanks so much! This is very helpful. Greatly appreciated

Pamela

05-05-2005, 05:51 PM
#8
Aphex is offline Aphex
Aphex's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Aug 2004
Location: United States
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 244
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Aphex is on a distinguished road

Send a message via AIM to Aphex Send a message via MSN to Aphex

  Old

Its tough to keep an actively-updated site, such as a forum, compliant. My Halo web site definately isn't close.

However, does it really matter, if the site generally works in all browsers?

05-05-2005, 07:11 PM
#9
flez is offline flez
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 540
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

flez is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Robson
http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=www.talkfreelance.com

Talkfreelance isn't, just a few errors though

What about yours?
Actually, TF is not valid, as it uses tables for the design elements, and in XHTML tables are supposed to be used only for tabular data, but the validator doesn't really check for that.

I don't have a site, but if I did, I'd try to make it validate, but I'm not using XHTML just because I want something standard, I use it because it's easier to change the content and/or the design. Content and design separated is just easier to update, only a little longer to code, but not that much, if IE would render things as they should, it would be much shorter as now, on a design I'm working on, I have 3 .css files, one for all the pages, one for the specific page, and one to fix IE's errors...

05-05-2005, 07:18 PM
#10
Koobi is offline Koobi
Koobi's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 312
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Koobi is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by flez
Actually, TF is not valid, as it uses tables for the design elements, and in XHTML tables are supposed to be used only for tabular data, but the validator doesn't really check for that.
That's probably because that falls under the "semantics" category rather than the validation category



Originally Posted by flez
on a design I'm working on, I have 3 .css files, one for all the pages, one for the specific page, and one to fix IE's errors...
If you do need a browser sniffer let me know
This is just a basic example but note how the scrollbar looks different on IE5 and IE6 and also note how it validates as CSS although scrollbar properties are not allowed:
http://koobi-studio.com/gf/dynamicCss/test.php

That just sniffs at what is accessing and I've designed it to respond a certain way depending on the browser. This can be customized for absolutely any browser right down to a specific release.

Closed Thread  
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed