Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 1385 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Business and Website Management     Advertising, SEO and Social Marketing :

h1, h2, etc tags without linebreak?

Thread title: h1, h2, etc tags without linebreak?
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
04-11-2007, 10:40 AM
#1
Gracia is offline Gracia
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Apr 2007
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 17
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Gracia is on a distinguished road

  Old

Code:
h1,h2,h3,h4,h5 { 
margin:0; 
padding:0; 
} 
..and then.. 

h1 { 
padding:3px; 
}
and so on. If you do it this way, you don't need the display property and the linebreak.

04-11-2007, 12:24 PM
#2
Amross is offline Amross
Status: Member
Join date: Jan 2007
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 311
iTrader: 4 / 100%
 

Amross is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Gracia View Post
Code:
h1,h2,h3,h4,h5 { 
margin:0; 
padding:0; 
} 
..and then.. 

h1 { 
padding:3px; 
}
and so on. If you do it this way, you don't need the display property and the linebreak.
Except for the fact you're doing something different than the intent and it will have a different effect in browsers. Changing the display type to inline is the technically correct method of doing what the thread starter asked. Should they ALSO want to remove any whitespace that certain browsers will display, only then would your method be applicable and recommended.

04-11-2007, 01:46 PM
#3
Garrett is offline Garrett
Status: Waving
Join date: Aug 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,694
iTrader: 11 / 100%
 

Garrett is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Garrett

  Old

Originally Posted by Gracia View Post
Code:
h1,h2,h3,h4,h5 { 
margin:0; 
padding:0; 
} 
..and then.. 

h1 { 
padding:3px; 
}
and so on. If you do it this way, you don't need the display property and the linebreak.
Last I checked, you had to either float the headers or give the display: inline; to achieve what he wants.

All yours is doing is adding padding to the H1

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed