Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1128 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming :

Getting into Programming: Where do I start?

Thread title: Getting into Programming: Where do I start?
10-10-2010, 05:59 PM
jimmykup is offline jimmykup
Software:

jimmykup is on a distinguished road

Old  Getting into Programming: Where do I start?

Hi everyone,

I'm looking into learning how to program. I've been using HTML and CSS for over a decade now but I've never moved past that. My question is where should I begin? I'm currently reading up on PHP and MySQL but I'd like to do this right. Here's what I would like to accomplish.
  • As a seasoned web designer I'd like to be able to design more than just the front-end of a website with HTML and CSS. In this case I assume that I should look into PHP, MySQL, Javascript, ASP and more.
  • Additionally I'd like to move beyond just websites and learn how to create applications and games. Whether they be for the web, or mobile devices like Android and iOS.

Where should I start? Is there a programming language I should learn first that will assist me in learning others? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

10-10-2010, 06:14 PM
Village Genius is offline Village Genius
Expertise: Software
Software: Chrome, Notepad++

Village Genius will become famous soon enough

Old

PHP is a good starting point, it will teach you most of the major concepts of programming and it has a fairly easy learning curve. If you want to do computer programs try Visual Basic if you use Windows. If you use mac your options become much more limited, C and C++ (very hard languages) become your best options.

I started with C++, but I have since found that doing this is an unusual route due to its steep learning curve.

Thanked by:
Artashes (10-11-2010)
10-16-2010, 06:02 PM