Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1305 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

Entire Div a Link, w/o Javascript, Valid, Standards-Friendly -- Help?

Thread title: Entire Div a Link, w/o Javascript, Valid, Standards-Friendly -- Help?
Closed Thread  
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
10-23-2008, 11:50 PM
Spooky is offline Spooky
Software:

Spooky is on a distinguished road

Old  Entire Div a Link, w/o Javascript, Valid, Standards-Friendly -- Help?

Hey guys,

I am a standards and validation designer. Everything I do must conform to standards and needs to be XHTML Transitional (Prefer Strict) valid and CSS valid. I've come across a troubling situation where I have found a few tricks that cover a few parts of what I need, but not the entire thing.

Let me make a few things clear:
1) The entire div in this scenario must be clickable to bring the visitor to another page.
2) This div will contain block-level elements, meaning a simple <a></a> around the div will not work.
3) This div needs to contain at least two text-links that will route them to different pages or anchors.
4) Any proposed scripts cannot use JavaScript.

Let's set up my scenario:
I have a blog that I want the main page to display it's entries in a unique fashion: each entry will have it's own slightly small div which will include the post title, subtitle, a few clickable tags, and a clickable comments (#) option.

The entire div must be clickable to bring the user to the blog post, although, if the user clicks a tag, it must take them to a filter for that tag, and if the user clicks the Comments (#) it must take them to the #comments anchor on the post page.

This is a problem, obviously. Block-level elements cannot go within an a tag, it simply does not conform.

A few methods I have approached: