Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1463 users currently browsing (tf).

Our Partners:

TalkFreelance     Business and Website Management     Contracts, Business and Legal Help :

I cancelled a project before starting it, need advice on responsibility.

Thread title: I cancelled a project before starting it, need advice on responsibility.
08-12-2012, 08:43 PM
jcg is offline jcg
Expertise:
Software:

jcg is on a distinguished road

Old  I cancelled a project before starting it, need advice on responsibility.

I'll try to make this long story as short as possible.

I work full time as a frontend web developer. In May of this year I signed a contract to design and develop a website for a client through a broker to help pay down student debt. I requested 25% up front, as well as 25% after acceptance of designs. Both invoices have been paid. The Project did not go smoothly with delays on both sides. Fortunately the project has completed, and I have invoiced the client for the remaining 50% less 5% for inconveniences along the way.

While the project was in development the broker asked me to quote another project (Project B) for the same client. This time the project involved conversion of a previously launched site from Expression Engine CMS to PyroCMS. I quoted a low figure as the broker had pressured me to give low quotes on the previous project (Project A). The client and broker accepted my low quote via email. No contracts were signed, and no deposits were requested. I figured we would deal with these details once Project A was complete.

Last week my day job signed a major new client and assigned me a heavy workload for the foreseeable future (several months). I made the difficult decision to back out of Project B as I do not believe I will be able to give both jobs the time necessary to complete them on time.