Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,472
There are 1797 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

[Help Needed] Internet Explorer padding problem.

Thread title: [Help Needed] Internet Explorer padding problem.
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
05-26-2005, 10:43 PM
#1
Bas is offline Bas
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Expertise: Frontend, vBulletin
Software: Coda, Photoshop
 
Posts: 607
iTrader: -1 / 0%
 

Bas is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Bas

  Old  [Help Needed] Internet Explorer padding problem.

Hi, I'm having some spacer problems on my new layout.



As you can see in Firefox it has 7px padding (as supposed too) and in Internet Explorer it has 10px padding.
I know it is caused by the red sidebar so here's the CSS code for that sidebar:
Code:
#navigation {
  padding: 0;
  margin: 0;
  width: 150px;
  float: left;
}
And the CSS code for the content:
Code:
#content {
  margin: 0 0 0 160px;
}
My layout's wide is 760px, so 150+10+600 is excactly right. (content is 600px wide with 10px spacing)
Though if I change the content CSS to:
Code:
#content {
  margin: 0 0 0 160px;
  width: 600px;
}
In IE the content will be under the sidebar, and in FireFox it looks ok.
if I get rid of the margin part and look in IE, I can see that there's about 3px between the sidebar and the content, so some kind of stupid IE spacer bug must be causing it, this also appears to happen with images regularly.

Does anyone know a hack/line of CSS to fix this padding problem?

05-27-2005, 01:23 AM
#2
schroder is offline schroder
schroder's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Nov 2004
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 159
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

schroder is on a distinguished road

  Old

This is not necessarily a solution, but I'm hoping this will help.

If not I would like to tinker with it myself to see what's going on.

Here's a link with a 'ie css hack':
http://www.tantek.com/CSS/Examples/boxmodelhack.html

I've never tried it myself because I haven't run into the problme but I've seen it before.

05-27-2005, 01:31 AM
#3
Legendary is offline Legendary
Status: Member
Join date: Nov 2004
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 115
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Legendary is on a distinguished road

  Old

Aside from that, the CSS you gave really isn't enough information. We need to look at everything. All we know is that the #content shifted to the left, and the navigation is floated to the left. Nothing more about that particular box you have question for.

05-27-2005, 05:52 AM
#4
Bas is offline Bas
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Expertise: Frontend, vBulletin
Software: Coda, Photoshop
 
Posts: 607
iTrader: -1 / 0%
 

Bas is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Bas

  Old

Schroder: boxmodelhack didn't seem to work that well.
Legendary: everything in the content is 3px of, I'll update my post with some more information though.

05-27-2005, 07:06 AM
#5
Koobi is offline Koobi
Koobi's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 312
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Koobi is on a distinguished road

  Old

hmmmm looks like the boxmodel issue to me...are you sure schroder's link didn't work for you?

05-27-2005, 07:50 AM
#6
Julian is offline Julian
Status: Simply to simplify
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Foxton, Manawatu, New Zealand
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,572
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Julian is on a distinguished road

  Old

This link answers your problem, it is the 3 pixel IE text jog:

http://www.positioniseverything.net/...reepxtest.html

05-27-2005, 08:33 AM
#7
Jen is offline Jen
Status: Member
Join date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 413
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Jen is on a distinguished road

  Old

Use display: inline; for Explorer

I guess padding is a bug in Explorer so use display code I gave you. [Try!]

05-27-2005, 03:12 PM
#8
Bas is offline Bas
Status: I love this place
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Expertise: Frontend, vBulletin
Software: Coda, Photoshop
 
Posts: 607
iTrader: -1 / 0%
 

Bas is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Bas

  Old

Julian, that worked
iPixet, that messed it up so bad

Thanks all

05-28-2005, 01:22 PM
#9
Julian is offline Julian
Status: Simply to simplify
Join date: Apr 2005
Location: Foxton, Manawatu, New Zealand
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 5,572
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Julian is on a distinguished road

  Old

You're welcome Bas

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed