Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 995 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     HTML/XHTML/DHTML/CSS :

Stupid Question......

Thread title: Stupid Question......
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
07-16-2012, 12:05 AM
#1
BoyWonder is offline BoyWonder
Status: Member
Join date: Mar 2012
Location: Brooklyn, United States
Expertise: Programming
Software: Notepad++
 
Posts: 102
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

BoyWonder is on a distinguished road

  Old  Stupid Question......

I am really embarrassed for asking this, but the links in the div don't work when clicked.

Html:

<div id="Text"> <p> <a href="http://www.w3schools.com" class="text"> Home</a> <a href="http://www.w3schools.com" class="text">About</a> <a href="http://www.w3schools.com" class="text">Services</a> <a href="http://www.w3schools.com" class="text">Portfolio</a> <a href="http://www.w3schools.com" class="text">Pricing</a> <a href="http://www.w3schools.com" class="text">Contact</a> <a href="http://www.w3schools.com" class="text">Blog </a></p></div>


CSS:

#Text {
position: fixed;
z-index:500;
font-family:"Microsoft Sans Serif";
font-size:20px;
line-height:120%;

color:rgb(153,153,153);
text-align:left;
word-spacing: 50px;
margin-left: 631px;
margin-top: 80px;



}
.text{
color:rgb(153,153,153);
text-decoration: none;

07-16-2012, 01:24 AM
#2
BoyWonder is offline BoyWonder
Status: Member
Join date: Mar 2012
Location: Brooklyn, United States
Expertise: Programming
Software: Notepad++
 
Posts: 102
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

BoyWonder is on a distinguished road

  Old

I fixed it, by increasing the z index of #Text to be more than a div with transparency in front of it.

11-15-2012, 12:03 PM
#3
nomatch is offline nomatch
Status: Senior Member
Join date: Sep 2006
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 839
iTrader: 9 / 91%
 

nomatch is on a distinguished road

  Old

Instead of giving every link in the div Text a class of text - you should just target all links within the Text tag (#Text a {}).

11-17-2012, 04:54 AM
#4
Zara is offline Zara
Status: Member
Join date: Apr 2006
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 249
iTrader: 9 / 100%
 

Zara is on a distinguished road

  Old

To avoid starting bad habits, you should use an unordered list (<ul>) inside of a div. Furthermore, if this list is to be used as a major navigation section of your site and you plan on using HTML5; you should use the nav element to wrap the list.

Formatting your code is also a good thing to practice. While not necessary on a live site, you can always remove the unnecessary white space before going live if bandwidth is an issue. Also, it'd help to use relevant class names and identifiers.

Lastly, you may want to check out [ this link ] and read up on web-safe fonts. The idea behind web-safe fonts is to ensure text renders in a controller manner, even when the system doesn't have the first font your specify. Basically, each system that loads the page has to have the font installed in order to render it. Otherwise, it falls back to a secondary font specified in your styles or a browser/platform default.

Ex.
HTML Code:
<div id="nav-container">
    <ul>
        <li>
            <a href="#SomeLink" title="Some Title">Some Text</a>
        </li>
        <li>
            <a href="#SomeLink" title="Some Title">Some Text</a>
        </li>
    </ul>
</div>
or

HTML Code:
<nav id="nav-container">
    <ul>
        <li>
            <a href="#SomeLink" title="Some Title">Some Text</a>
        </li>
        <li>
            <a href="#SomeLink" title="Some Title">Some Text</a>
        </li>
    </ul>
</nav>
Edit: Meh, just realize OP was 4 months ago... :-/

01-13-2013, 11:21 AM
#5
TheArtifex is offline TheArtifex
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Jan 2013
Location: Kolkata, India
Expertise: design, development, WordPress
Software: Photoshop, HTML, PHP, MySQL
 
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

TheArtifex is on a distinguished road

  Old

Hi,

What you are doing is not considered as best practice. You should be using the "list" or <ul> for the purpose.

Thanks.

04-19-2013, 12:13 PM
#6
Mortan is offline Mortan
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Apr 2013
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 42
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Mortan is on a distinguished road

  Old

as you are starter in web design dont feel embarrassed

all web designer went through this when they started

instead of writing html codes think of using dreamviewer etc which will avoid this simple mistakes using there text editors

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed