Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,254
Total Threads: 80,792
Total Posts: 566,471
There are 1101 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     Design and Development     Programming     Flash and Actionscript :

Some flash help needed.. :S

Thread title: Some flash help needed.. :S
Closed Thread    
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
01-18-2006, 04:27 PM
#1
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old  Some flash help needed.. :S

hey guys, basically i want to put a simple button on a flash project, when clicked (and not before) moves you onto the next keyframe...

cheers

01-18-2006, 04:55 PM
#2
Jhin is offline Jhin
Jhin's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Nov 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 303
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Jhin is on a distinguished road

Send a message via ICQ to Jhin Send a message via AIM to Jhin Send a message via MSN to Jhin Send a message via Yahoo to Jhin

  Old

01-18-2006, 05:00 PM
#3
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

ok cheers, silly q, but when adding code do you next something to begin and end with..like in vb theres end sub at the end etc...? ive never added code to flash before, im very inexperienced with it!

01-18-2006, 05:01 PM
#4
Jhin is offline Jhin
Jhin's Avatar
Status: Member
Join date: Nov 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 303
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Jhin is on a distinguished road

Send a message via ICQ to Jhin Send a message via AIM to Jhin Send a message via MSN to Jhin Send a message via Yahoo to Jhin

  Old

the format is pretty basic:

When this happens (eventHandler)
{
do this;
}

Check out the links they are tutorials specifically for adding actionscripts to buttons and the like. They have screenshots and everything

01-18-2006, 05:05 PM
#5
t0m is offline t0m
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: West Sussex, England
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,829
iTrader: 21 / 100%
 

t0m is on a distinguished road

  Old

sweet cheers wil check out, and if im still having problems, will return here

01-19-2006, 12:52 AM
#6
Panther is offline Panther
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Jan 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 60
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Panther is on a distinguished road

  Old

try one of these:

(in the button timeline)
on(press){
nextFrame();
}

or
(and on the main timeline)
_root.(button name).onPress = function(){
nextFrame();
}

02-05-2007, 03:08 PM
#7
Sam Granger is offline Sam Granger
Status: Request a custom title
Join date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,616
iTrader: 19 / 88%
 

Sam Granger is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Sam Granger

  Old

Dont forget to add stop in the actionscript of that frame.

02-05-2007, 04:51 PM
#8
derek lapp is offline derek lapp
Status: design rockstar
Join date: Jan 2005
Location: guelph, ontario
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 2,246
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

derek lapp is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by stillt View Post
hey guys, basically i want to put a simple button on a flash project, when clicked (and not before) moves you onto the next keyframe...

cheers
there's 2 ways to do it.
  1. open actions panel (F9), type 'stop()';. this stops the movie from playing past the current frame (frame 1)
  2. make your button - make sure it's a button symbol and not a movie clip/graphic.
  3. option 1: apply the actions diretly on the button - select the button, in the actions panel type:

    on(release) {
    gotoAndPlay(#ofthenextframe);
    }
  4. option 2: apply the actions to the frame - assign the button an instance name via properties panel, type:

    instancename.onRelease = function() {
    gotoAndPlay(frame#);
    }

Closed Thread    


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed