Today's Posts Follow Us On Twitter! TFL Members on Twitter  
Forum search: Advanced Search  
Navigation
Marketplace
  Members Login:
Lost password?
  Forum Statistics:
Forum Members: 24,253
Total Threads: 80,789
Total Posts: 566,437
There are 70 users currently browsing (tf).
 
  Our Partners:
 
  TalkFreelance     TalkFreelance Information     Suggestions and Feedback :

Security Issue Redirect

Thread title: Security Issue Redirect
Reply  
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
    Thread tools Search this thread Display Modes  
02-14-2010, 02:09 AM
#21
ChrisGwynne is offline ChrisGwynne
Status: Member
Join date: Nov 2007
Location: Wales
Expertise: Development
Software: TextMate, Transmit, Photoshop.
 
Posts: 242
iTrader: 0 / 50%
 

ChrisGwynne is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by Spherions View Post
Search the headerinclude template for this:

Code:
var SESSIONURL = "$session[sessionurl_js]";
Look directly under that line, if the following isn't there, add it directly below the above code:

Code:
var SECURITYTOKEN = "$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]";


Then search all templates for this:

Code:
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
And then add this line of code right under the above code for every single instance:

Code:
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />

So intead of the instances looking like this:

Code:
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />

They will look like this:

Code:
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />

On the other hand, you can use the template search engine and replace the code there, by following this screenshot.

Thanks, but like I said previously , it is not a template issue as they all have the correct coding in them.

Reply With Quote
02-14-2010, 05:09 AM
#22
Spherions is offline Spherions
Status: Junior Member
Join date: Mar 2009
Location:
Expertise: Investment
Software: Photoshop & phpDesigner
 
Posts: 59
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

Spherions is on a distinguished road

  Old

It's not a Firefox issue, it happens in all browsers. What modifications have you installed? Give me a list of anything that isn't stock, and their page on vB.org.

This is a vBulletin issue, and every thread ever created about it, points to bad modifications or an issue in a template. I can ask a very well known vB modder or vB/vBSol. developer if they can take a look at the issue for you guys, if you'd like that. Sound fair?

But mind taking a look in the footer template? I turned back on DST correct 2 nights ago, and the errors stopped then. Perhaps another administrator took a look and fixed it, which is why you're not seeing any missing code.

Reply With Quote
02-14-2010, 05:28 AM
#23
SteveM is offline SteveM
Status: I'm new around here
Join date: Feb 2010
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

SteveM is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by ChrisGwynne View Post
Thanks, but like I said previously , it is not a template issue as they all have the correct coding in them.
Unfortunately you are incorrect. I have been dealing with vBulletin for the past 8 years and I can honestly tell you that the security token error is coming from the templates. Without the security token line in the template(s) then that error will come about anytime someone tries to access a page that requires a security token. So honestly trying to blame a firefox bug for the issue is not correct.

Firefox does not handle security tokens nor does it have any dealings with that type of information. All it does is display the page as it is coded, if the coded page is missing information that the script it is trying to access needs then it will come back with errors. So in all fairness you should really check your templates, double check them, then triple check them before trying to lay blame on a browser bug. The person who has been giving you advice I know for a fact he knows what he is talking about. Also searching vbulletin.com will return the same kind of fixes so frankly you shouldn't dismiss this as a browser bug. It has been proven to be a template issue.

Something else, if you upgraded vBulletin or the style itself, how do you know all templates are coded correctly? Upgrades can cause the same issue especially if you don't check them for missing lines or what not.

For reference purpose: My vB.org profile

Thanks for reading
Steve

Reply With Quote
02-19-2010, 06:51 PM
#24
NuPixel is offline NuPixel
Status: rawr
Join date: Dec 2005
Location:
Expertise:
Software:
 
Posts: 1,238
iTrader: 0 / 0%
 

NuPixel is on a distinguished road

  Old

I use Firefox 3.6 and I'm no longer experiencing this issue, thanks.

Reply With Quote
02-19-2010, 09:46 PM
#25
ChrisGwynne is offline ChrisGwynne
Status: Member
Join date: Nov 2007
Location: Wales
Expertise: Development
Software: TextMate, Transmit, Photoshop.
 
Posts: 242
iTrader: 0 / 50%
 

ChrisGwynne is on a distinguished road

  Old

Originally Posted by NuPixel View Post
I use Firefox 3.6 and I'm no longer experiencing this issue, thanks.
You're welcome.

Reply With Quote
Reply  
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

  Posting Rules  
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump:
 
  Contains New Posts Forum Contains New Posts   Contains No New Posts Forum Contains No New Posts   A Closed Forum Forum is Closed